Reiki Levels I, II & III. Complete Explanation

Share & Spread The Word
Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterPin on Pinterest0Share on Google+0Share on Reddit0

The 3 Levels Of Reiki & Their Attunements

Reiki ExploredHave you got an interest in becoming a Reiki practitioner? Are you interested in using the services of a Reiki practitioner or do you self self heal with Reiki and would just like to know how you can improve  your personal Reiki practise.

In this article by Sharna Langlais you will be informed of the 3 levels of Reiki and the attunements associated with each individual level.

Within each level there are requirements that must be achieved but we have found that each Reiki Reiki self healingmaster can and will use different strategies to get you to the required standard. No 2 Reiki masters/instructors use the exact same format for doing this.

Reiki attunement is what separates Reiki from other forms of energy healing methods. The attunement ceremony is performed by the Reiki Master is known as Reiju in Japan.  It is designed to open and expand the main energy channels throughout the students body resulting in the universal energy known as Qi/Chi/Ki to flow freely and deeply.


Heres what you can expect from each Reiki level and the attunements associated with them.



1. Reiki Level 1: The First Degree

Level 1 is a practitioner’s initiation into Reiki and is open to anyone. The focus during Level 1 is on opening the energy channels on a physical level, allowing the practitioner to connect to the universal life force energy, which flows from the cosmos through the crown of the head and down to the heart and hands.

Many Reiki Masters emphasize self-Reiki as the goal of the Level 1 designation, encouraging students to focus on practicing Reiki on themselves, thereby working through their own obstacles. The Reiki Level 1 attunement was initially given in four separate attunements. There are some Reiki Masters who still teach using this method. However, many Reiki Masters provide the Level 1 attunement in one single attunement. Many experience physical symptoms of energy in their palms after the first attunement including tingling, coolness or heat. Typically the Level 1 course also includes an overview of the history of Reiki, hand placements and self and group practice.

2. Reiki Level 2: Second Degree

Level 2 is often defined by a focus on practicing Reiki on others, as well as an expanded opening of the energy channels. Additionally students receive the “Reiki symbols” and Level 2 attunement. The Reiki symbols allow the practitioner to connect more deeply to the universal energy, as well as draw on the qualities that the symbols represent. This includes the ability to provide distance Reiki, or sending healing energy to individuals wherever they may be.

This symbol also may be used to clear energy blockages across time, as well as physical locations. Due to the intensity of the attunement process, some Reiki Masters recommend that at least 21 days to a full three months pass between receiving the Level 1 and Level 2 attunements (Level 1 is required to receive Level 2).

However, there are many Reiki Masters that combine Level 1 and Level 2 into a combination class, and may even teach these over the course of one weekend. The Level 2 attunement is typically given in one single attunement, with a focus on opening up the central channel even more, with an emphasis on the Heart Chakra. Typically Level 2 also includes practice in drawing the symbols, invoking their qualities, as well as distance healing.

3. Reiki Level 3: Third Degree & Reiki Master

In many courses, the Third Degree and Reiki Master are the same designation. However some teachers separate Level 3 from Reiki Master, in order to emphasize the difference between receiving the Master attunement, from being trained in attuning new students or practitioners.

The Reiki Master Level is traditionally considered the teacher’s level a practitioner who has received the energy and knowledge to attune new Reiki practitioners. Many receive the Master attunement, along with the corresponding symbol, yet don’t feel comfortable or practised in properly attuning others hence the distinction between Third Degree and Reiki Master.

Becoming a Reiki Master also represents a deep commitment to the Reiki practice, and some feel that significant time should pass between achieving the Second Degree status and Master Level. Because the Master Level is taught in a wide range of methods, you should meditate on which path feels right for you and spend time and consideration in selecting a Master.

The Reiki Levels provide a general organization of the progression of Reiki mastership. Because Reiki courses are taught and organized in a wide variety of methods, it’s important to research and find both the format and instructor that is right for you.




Many thanks to the author sharna Langlais

Sharna-Langlais-HeadshotSharna works with clients internationally, helping them uncover the source of emotional wounds and blockages so they can live freer, fuller and brighter lives. Using Reiki, meditation, and energy therapies, she facilitates a holistic and individualized journey toward healing. She is a Reiki Master at Brilliance Oneness Collective in San…Read more


Read the comlete article  – the-3-levels-of-reiki-what-are-they-what-do-they-mean.


Share & Spread The Word
Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterPin on Pinterest0Share on Google+0Share on Reddit0